Shame on you, California! – Proposition 8 passes

My tears of joy from hearing about Barack Obama winning US presidential election had not yet run dry, as I was shocked and crushed to learn that Californians voted “Yes” on Proposition 8, which bans gay marriage in this state. I find it amusing that “Proposition Eight” and “Proposition Hate” sound so similar. 

It is my belief that the “Yes on Prop 8” campaign was based on lies, fear, bigotry and intimidation . Oh, and don’t forget appeals to God and Jesus the Saviour. Just take a look at their ads and videos of their supporters on YouTube. They want you to be scared of turning your kids gay through education and more public acceptance of gay couples, which is just laughable. Here’s a great video that goes into details on the Prop 8 Poll on IProtectMarriage.com:

The most shocking part is question #8 where they propel an old myth that homosexuality is a choice, despite most scientific research suggesting it is not, massive evidence of animals homosexual behavior (do they choose their lifestyles, too?), and plain logic – if it’s pure choice, why so many choose “the hard way”? They also seem to be quite scared of gay couple adopting kids, although, existing research suggests that neither it does increase chances of children growing gay, nor it strangles their social development and aptitude.

One of “Yes” campaign’s strongest arguments was that children would have to be taught about gay marriage in public schools. Although, I personally do not see anything wrong with it, it was also false, according to California Superintendent of Public Schools Jack O’Connell:

Here’s a great little parody on these lines of thinking:

When one of the smartest states falls victim to appeals to ignorance, stupid, God and religion, tactics of fear and intimidation, I am quite surprised (though relieved!) that the country as a whole withstood McCain’s campaign that pretty much employed the same strategy:

I’m heterosexual by the way, and I don’t even have any friends which I’d knew were gay. But sometimes I’m ashamed to be one. 😦

3 Responses to “Shame on you, California! – Proposition 8 passes”

  1. C Says:

    Did you know that minority ethnic groups voted for Prop 8 in much higher proportions (blacks 70%); whereas for whites it was under 50%

    Do you still consider Prop 8 support purely a function of “ignorance, stupid, God and religion, tactics of fear and intimidation” ?

    Not saying you’re actually incorrect if you do. Nor am I suggesting you are racist. But I’d like you to entertain the following questions:

    – Many Liberals are quick to say that b/c such-and-such has the support of minority groups, it’s de facto good – indeed, to oppose it is de facto racist. Do you ever have such an impulse?

    – It sounds like you have a mental image of a stereotypical Fundamentalist White Bigot (TM) as your archnemesis. Are you sure this is a demographically realistic “cluster representative”? Do you picture religious minorities in the same way?

  2. Artem Boytsov Says:

    Hello, C,

    Thank you for your comment. I frankly fail to see how a racial issue is of any relevance to Prop 8. I also fail to see how any minority issue is of any relevance to Prop 8. I do not care if gays are a minority, I just think that they have to have the same rights as others. And I know that being gay is not a choice.

    Also, I do not think that supporting Prop 8 is “ignorant, stupid, …” I was referring to the “Yes on Prop 8” campaign, the TV ads, the sites they put up, etc. I’m sorry if it wasn’t clear. And yes, I still consider the _campaign_ to be based on appeals to ignorance, stupid, religion and fear.

    As for your questions:
    – No, I’ve never had such an impulse. For example, I do not think women should get jobs they’re bad at just because they’ve been discriminated against in the past.
    – No, I’m not sure it’s demographically realistic, nor I am sure I have such a mental image. I also do not picture religious minorities in any way, since I do not really care about minorities or majorities. I, for one, is an atheist and I am quite opposed to religion as a dangerous idea. I do, however, respect other people’s right to religion. But in this case, these people (most deeply religious) disrespect and want to take away other people’s rights. This just goes to demonstrate why I think religion is a dangerous idea, but in general, this particular issue is not about religion or race, it’s about equality and rights.

  3. AC Says:

    8==hate?

    What’s hate? Voting? Exercising civil rights? If someone feels that Proposition 8 is the best thing for them and their children, they have the right to vote for it. We should respect that right, whether they’re right or not in voting for it.

    I’ve heard it said that the “persecutions” that the gays are experiencing as a result of Prop 8 are just like those against the Mormon church in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

    Oh, but those actions were illegal–just one slight difference.

    What would have happened if Prop 8 didn’t pass? Would the pro’s come over and say “hetero-haters”? Would they vandalize our homes and threaten anti-8’s? These are actions that some (the minority) of the anti-8’s have done, which I consider demonstrations of hate.

    Just because someone else holds an opinion that differs from ours, doesn’t make them haters.

    I saw a shirt recently that said, “I hate haters.” The person wearing it must have a pretty low self-esteem.


Leave a Reply

