Don’t believe in God? You’re not alone. – Denver billboard controversy

From The Atheist Experience Blog:

Welcome to Amerika. Where this, I am told, is offensive…

offensive

…but this isn’t.

not-offensive

Let’s see. The top billboard is simply a message from a group of unbelievers reaching out to other unbelievers who may feel they’re alone, isolated in a hostile religious culture. The bottom billboard, on the other hand, is making very curt and rather bullying demands on me. It asserts the existence of this being, God, then it quotes him as claiming to have some entitlement over me, because he supposedly gave his son, and so, like, aren’t I just some ungrateful so-and-so if I don’t acknowledge this fantastic deal (which I never asked for in the first place) and decide it’s in my best interests to “have” this God guy as part of my life.

Read the whole post.

3 Responses to “Don’t believe in God? You’re not alone. – Denver billboard controversy”

  1. Danielle Says:

    I would pay more attention to your article if you had spelled “America” correctly, instead of with a k. Proof read next time. Just a thought.

  2. Artem Boytsov Says:

    This is not my article – I just linked to it and posted an excerpt. And I’m pretty sure this spelling was sarcastic. Thanks for the comment though!

  3. Questioning God is Apparently Hate Speech | Friendly Atheist Says:

    […] are not about them. They’re not even mentioning, much less attacking, their beliefs.As one blogger implies, how can the atheist billboard be considered offensive when the following type of billboard can be […]


Leave a Reply

